Desktop Nexus Wallpapers
Reinvent Your Desktop
Sign UpLogin
4 Replies
Attack
QK292
Posted by QK292, 12/7/11 5:13 PM - Permalink
Was on this site about 10 min. didn't have any other windows open and nothing else running and my Norton Antivirus popped up and Said:Network traffic from 5689f5 matches signature of a known Attact, traffic from 5689f5.com/news has been blocked. What's up with this?
QK292
Posted by QK292, 12/8/11 12:43 PM - Permalink
New 1 today k71e74.com /news says the computer it was sent from k71e74.com 178.18.243.189.80
harmless
Posted by harmless, 12/9/11 11:14 PM - Permalink
this is just a guess, but i would suspect that the ad company is not screening the banner ads as closely as they should. it has happened in the past, where the bad guys have been able to slip in poisoned banner ads on major web portals and news sites. fortunately, it always gets corrected quickly. the advertising is necessary, since nothing on the web is free, but that is the one problem with advertising though... the ads come from sites that desktop nexus has no control over... so one has to trust that the ad company is effectively screening the ads that we get to see, and that they are safe.

it is just a guess, i would tend to think that DN, itself, is not the cause, but something external is going on... got to love the internet :)

toodles,
harmless
QK292
Posted by QK292, 12/14/11 12:04 AM - Permalink
Thank You for the info harmless, think thats the problem to. Just happened again same thing Suspicious Browswer Fingerprinting 3 this time the attcaking computer is differant www.ablimage.com(89.149.236.199,80) the attacking url:www.ablimage.com/homebusiness/98776n67467n2vb3 and the source address is 89.149.236.199(89.149.236.199) Just incase someone is keeping tabs
komodo
Administrator
Posted by komodo, 12/15/11 9:59 AM - Permalink
Thank you for reporting this. It's most likely a rogue advertising company. (Desktop Nexus will never intentionally transmit malware)

I'm passing this information along to the company that handles our advertising, and we'll look into it immediately.

Thank you for letting us know.


Edit: That technical info is very helpful too! Thanks!
Last Edit: 12/15/11 at 10:02 am

Post a Reply


You need to sign up or login before you can post replies.

Popular Tag Forums